手机版必发88

欢迎参加88必发手机版登录全球网络研讨会:Emerging Water Quality Issues: Are You Ready to Monitor PFAS in your Water?

2019-03-08

Summary
Two Live Events:
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 at 1pm BST | 2pm CEST | 5:30pm IST
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 at 2pm EDT | 1pm CDT | 11am PDT


Event Overview:
Per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) are a group of persistent and harmful chemicals and evidence of PFAS accumulation in the environment has raised serious concerns globally. Moreover, as PFOA and PFOS have been phased out by industries, replacement compounds such as GenX have been introduced in the market. Hence, scientists have centered their efforts on increasing the coverage of PFAS monitoring (to include compounds such as PFCAs, PFSAs, fluorotelomers, perfluoroalkylsulfonamides) in order to assess the overall degree of exposure and understand the contamination sources to implement protection measures. However, analytical methods for PFAS are technically demanding and only a limited number of validated methods are provided by standardization authorities.

This webcast will discuss the global trends, regulatory requirements, and the latest developments pertaining to PFAS analyses (e.g. EPA 537.1). Several case studies on drinking water and environmental matrices will be described to illustrate the difficulties and pitfalls of LC?–MS/MS analyses and their solutions.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Global trends on PFAS analyses in drinking water and environmental matrices
  • Overview of EPA and ASTM methods for PFAS and the most up-to-date and complete solution for these analyses
  • Environmental case studies on the application of LC–MS/MS methods for PFAS monitoring

Who Should Attend:

  • Chemists / Researchers / Scientists / Laboratory Managers and Staff
  • Environmental / Testing / Governmental Laboratories, Research & Development
  • Regulatory / Environmental and Water Testing Industries

For questions please contact Kristen Moore: kristen.moore@ubm.com

Speakers

Dr. Ruth Marfil-Vega
Environmental Marketing Manager
Shimadzu Scientific Instruments
Dr. Ruth Marfil-Vega recently joined Shimadzu as the Environmental Marketing Manager. Ruth brings over fifteen years of experience leading research to solve water quality issues. She established and led the team focused on Emerging Contaminants at American Water (the largest publicly traded water utility in the US), managing and overseeing projects focused on the assessment and removal of regulated and unregulated contaminants (e.g. PFAS, nitrosamines, DBPs, cyanotoxins, taste and odor compounds, pharmaceuticals) by conventional and advanced treatment technologies in drinking water, wastewater, and water reuse. She was an ORISE postdoctoral fellow at the US EPA Office of Research and Development. She received a PhD in Environmental Science from the University of Cincinnati and a BSc in Chemistry from the University of Valladolid (Spain.)

Registration URL:

按年份查看

Top of This Page